Cathedral of Shit

has taken a well earned GAP year

And the Award Goes To….

Posted by cathedralofshit on October 27, 2009

Matthew Higgs.
Now, we like Mr Higgs, don’t get us wrong – his slightly discomfiting way of talking about art, his programme, and the giant leg up he gives young artists.
But we’re quite excited by something that, really, should make us spit venom. The The First Annual Art Awards at the Guggenheim Museum in association with White Columns is an art awards ceremony modelled on the Oscars. Ain’t that enough to make you weep? It’s also a work by Rob Pruitt. And I’m crying again.

We wanted to hate this far more than we do – but categories have good and worthy nominees, and some great shows have been selected. You can see the nominees here.

Whilst we’re happy to get swept along in a little congratulatory behaviour (honest, we’re already rootin’ for our favourites and getting involved. Best artist… Mary Heilman? Dan Graham? Louise Bourgeois? Urs Fischer?), some elements make us do a little bit of sick. Awards presented by Nate Lowman and Mary-Kate Olsen? Gag. Sponsored by Calvin Klein (cue unsavoury thoughts about Lifetime Achievement Award winner Kaspar König in a pair of CK Briefs). Greugh.

How about an award for the “Best Sporadically and Often Factually Incorrect Blog”. We reckon we’d be in with a chance….

Whilst we’re on this subject (of us) – it’s been suggested we have more pictures. Here’s out first. It’s Biesenbach – Curator of the Year nominee, trying to win his category with a 100 yard hypnotic stare. Look away before you turn to stone!
Klaus Biesenbach

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: