Cathedral of Shit

has taken a well earned GAP year

Posts Tagged ‘Klaus Biesenbach’

Bum bum bum bum buum buuum baaaaaaah!!!!!

Posted by cathedralofshit on May 5, 2010

That was a trumpeted fanfare of course.

Despite just seven months of talking shit, making things up and taking the piss out of Anthony Gormley and Anish Kapoor, we’ve hit the 50,000 visits mark. How about that, eh? Isn’t it time we were paid by some ad exec to casually mention how much we enjoy Hob Nobs or Topshop or Wilkinson Gallery or something? We’re pretty cheap you know?

Anyway, we’ll be celebrating our phenomenal and unprecedented success by running a poll or two. Feel free, in the spirit of election polling, to send in your contributions, and let’s see if we can establish who’s the David Cameron of the art world?

The following topics apply – don’t forget, you can reply to us anonymously by simply using a fake name and email address. Totally anonymous.
1 Artist of the Month
2 The ‘No, Seriously…?’ Award for Artistic Bravery
3 The Press Release Award of The Month
4 The “Go Home, The Party’s Over’ Award
5 The ‘Actually, We’re Pretty Bored of Discussing That’ Award
6 The David Cameron Award For The Unique And Awful Qualities Usually Attributed To David Cameron
and finally
6 The Klaus Biesenbach Award

I look forward to your response.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged: , , , | 1 Comment »

And the Award Goes To….

Posted by cathedralofshit on October 27, 2009

Matthew Higgs.
Now, we like Mr Higgs, don’t get us wrong – his slightly discomfiting way of talking about art, his programme, and the giant leg up he gives young artists.
But we’re quite excited by something that, really, should make us spit venom. The The First Annual Art Awards at the Guggenheim Museum in association with White Columns is an art awards ceremony modelled on the Oscars. Ain’t that enough to make you weep? It’s also a work by Rob Pruitt. And I’m crying again.

We wanted to hate this far more than we do – but categories have good and worthy nominees, and some great shows have been selected. You can see the nominees here.

Whilst we’re happy to get swept along in a little congratulatory behaviour (honest, we’re already rootin’ for our favourites and getting involved. Best artist… Mary Heilman? Dan Graham? Louise Bourgeois? Urs Fischer?), some elements make us do a little bit of sick. Awards presented by Nate Lowman and Mary-Kate Olsen? Gag. Sponsored by Calvin Klein (cue unsavoury thoughts about Lifetime Achievement Award winner Kaspar K├Ânig in a pair of CK Briefs). Greugh.

How about an award for the “Best Sporadically and Often Factually Incorrect Blog”. We reckon we’d be in with a chance….

Whilst we’re on this subject (of us) – it’s been suggested we have more pictures. Here’s out first. It’s Biesenbach – Curator of the Year nominee, trying to win his category with a 100 yard hypnotic stare. Look away before you turn to stone!
Klaus Biesenbach

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged: , , , | Leave a Comment »